Public Language Awards Committee

Names, affiliations, and geographic region for members:

CHAIR, Michelle Devereaux, Kennesaw State University, GA

Antonio Byrd, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Shekema S. Dunlap, IFE Academy of Teaching & Technology, Manor, TX

Brooke Harris Garad, Butler University, Indianapolis, IN

Jeffrey Krapels, Northern Valley Regional High School at Old Tappan, Old Tappan, NJ

Megan K. Mize, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA

Sarah Richard, New York City Department of Education, New York, NY

Dywanna Smith, Claflin University, Orangeburg, SC

Valerie Taylor, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX

Natasha Thornton, Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA

Executive Committee Liaison, Rochelle (Shelley) Rodrigo, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

NCTE Staff, Sarah Miller

The Public Language Awards Committee has undergone dramatic shifts in organization and expectations since July 1, 2022. For instance, rather than one working committee, the Public Language Awards Committee now consists of two sub-committees: one for the Orwell Award and one for the newly envisioned Year in Doublespeak. As the chair, I have worked to create norms and expectations for these two committees. Since this is my last year in this role, I have been documenting everything that I can to ensure a smooth transition when I leave the committee at the end of this year.

Beyond splitting into two subcommittees and my efforts to document how this particular committee works, the sub-committee for The Year in Doublespeak has been working to normalize procedures under new expectations. Again, this has taken a large amount of work in working to streamline the new process and ensure that the new sub-committee is meeting the needs of the Year in Doublespeak as well as the expectations of leadership.

The subcommittee is currently working to create its first lesson plan based on explorations in clarity in public language and examples of doublespeak found in public spaces.