

NCTE National Intellectual Freedom Award Previous Recipients

2022

Julia Schleck, University of Nebraska Lincoln Nominated by Nebraska English Language Arts Council **Honorable Mention**

Ohioana Library

Nominated by the Ohio Council of Teachers of English Language Arts

2021

Adam Morfeld, State Senator, Nebraska Nominated by Nebraska English Language Arts Council **Honorable Mention**

Laurie Halse Anderson, New York Times-bestselling author The Leander ISD English language arts teachers and district staff

2020

Nic Stone, Author

Honorable Mention

Todd Schlecht, NE

Nominated by Nebraska English Language Arts Council

2019

Claudette Brassil of Brunswick, ME Nominated by the Maine Council for English Teachers **Honorable Mention** Martha Hickson of North Hunterdon High School, Annandale, NJ

2018

Victoria Orepitan of Katy Independent School District, TX Nominated by the Texas Council of Teachers of English Language Arts **Honorable Mention** Lindsey Whittington of Dixie County High School, Trenton, FL

2017

Joan Bertin, Former Executive Director of the National Coalition Against Censorship **Honorable Mentions**

Christina Berchini of the University of Wisconsin in Eau Claire SAGA 6, a group of six students from Mount Horeb High School, Wisconsin, and their school and community advisors

2016

Matt de la Pena, Author

Honorable Mention

Courtney Kincaid, North Richland Hills, TX

Nominated by the Texas Council of Teachers of English Language Arts

2015

Laurie Halse Anderson, Author

Honorable Mentions

Rod Wagner, Lincoln, NE

Nominated by the Nebraska English Language Arts Council

Margaret Ford, Campbell, OH

Nominated by the Ohio Council of Teachers of English Language Arts

2014

Brian Jeffrey, Montclair, CA

Honorable Mention

Karen Arnrus Tollafield, Kent, OH

Nominated by Ohio Council of Teachers of English Language Arts

2013

Judy Blume, Author

Honorable Mention

Dorothea Susag, Fairfield, MT

Nominated by the Montana Association of Teachers of English Language Arts

NCTE/SLATE* National Intellectual Freedom Award Winners

2012

Martha Brennan and Rebecca Slagle, Louisville, KY

Honorable Mention

Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award Organization

2011

Texas Civil Rights Project

Honorable Mention

Educators Network for Social Justice

2010

David Protess, director of the Medill Innocence Project and professor of Journalism at Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois

Honorable Mention

Karyn Storts-Brinks, Knoxville, TN

2009

Texas Freedom Network (Austin)

2008

Heather Gillman, high school student, Ponce de Leon High School, Florida

Honorable Mention

Brandon Hensler, Howard Simon, and Randall Marshall of the American Civil Liberties Union of Florida

2007

Kimberly Horne, St. Andrew's Episcopal School, Austin, Texas

2006

Blue Springs Board of Education, Blue Springs, Missouri

2005

Senator Richard Durbin (Illinois)

2004

James LaRue, Director of Douglas County Library System, Colorado

2003

Gloria Pipkin and ReLeah Cosset Lent, Lynn Haven, FL, At the Schoolhouse Gate: Lessons in Intellectual Freedom and Silent No More: Voices of Courage in American Schools

2002

Mark Goodman, Esq., Student Press Law Center, Virginia

2001

Joyce Meskis, The Tattered Cover Bookstore, Denver, Colorado

2000

Frosty Troy, editor The Observer, Oklahoma

1999

Jim Burke, Moderator of CATENet

1998

Chris Crutcher, Young Adult Author

1997

Washington Coalition Against Censorship

*SLATE Steering Committee was sunset in April 2012.