### Middle Level Section Nominating Committee

The Middle Level Section Nominating Committee prepares a slate of candidates for vacancies that occur annually on the Middle Level Section Steering Committee and selects candidates for the succeeding year's Middle Level Section Nominating Committee. The candidate who receives the largest number of votes in the election will chair the Nominating Committee.

All nominating committees attend the Annual Convention in November. Members meet on Saturday and Sunday mornings to discuss the names submitted by mail, to solicit further nominations, and to generate nominations from within the Committee as needed.

### 2024-2025

Nora Ramirez, Mercedes ISD School District, Mercedes, Texas, CHAIR Sierra Gilbertson, Fosston High School, Bagley, MN Katie Sluiter, Wyoming Junior High School, Zeeland, MI

#### 2023-2024

Michelle Yang Kaczmarek, literacy coordinator, diversity, equity and inclusion teacher leader (K-12), Dobbs Ferry, NY, CHAIR Donna Yvette Herrera, teacher, Mercedes ISD, Mercedes, Texas Kristie B. Williams, Birmingham City Schools

#### 2022-2023

Anna Osborn, Jefferson Middle School, Missouri, CHAIR Amy Bouch, Eighth-grade English teacher, Western Pennsylvania Sierra Gilbertson, Seventh, eighth, and twelfth-grade English teacher, Fosston, MN

### 2021-2022

Christopher Lehman, The Educator Collaborative, New York, NY, CHAIR Amy Fleming, Elizabethtown Area School District, Elizabethtown, PA Julie Wasmund Hoffman, Springfield Public Schools, Springfield, IL

### 2020-2021

Elena Garcia, Barr Middle School, Grand Island, NE, CHAIR Sara B. Kajder, University of Georgia, Athens René M. Rodríguez-Astocia, Penn State University, State College

### 2019-2020

Haley Shaffer, Poland Middle School, OH, CHAIR Jason Griffith, Penn State University, State College Maggie Bettie Roberts, West Hartford, CT

### 2018-2019

Alex Corbitt, The Bronx School of Young Leaders, NY, CHAIR Lakisha Odlum, School of the Future, New York, NY Shelly Shaffer, Eastern Washington University, Cheney

### 2017-2018

Chad Everett, Horn Lake Middle School, Mississippi, CHAIR Jill Adams, Metropolitan State University, Denver, Colorado Sarah Bonner, Heyworth Jr/Sr High School, Illinois

### 2016-2017

Heidi Branch, Belmont Ridge Middle School, Leesburg, Virginia, CHAIR Cheryl Golden, Seneca Ridge Middle School, Sterling, Virginia Robyn Seglem, Illinois State University, Normal

## 2015-2016 Holly Spinelli, City-As-School High School, New York, New York, Chair

Jason Augustowski, Belmont Ridge Middle School, Lansdowne, Virginia Laura Pope, Baltimore City Community College, Maryland

### 2014-2015

Dorothy Fontaine, Wakefield School, The Plains, Virginia, Chair Juliet Duggins, Motto Middle School, Bronx, New York Katie Shepherd Dredger, James Madison University, Harrisburg, Virginia

# 2013-2014

Justin Stygles, Rowe Elementary School, Maine Elizabeth Dinkins, Bellarmine University, Louisville, Kentucky Laurie Henry, University of Kentucky, Lexington

### 2012-2013

Zanetta Robinson, Thurgood Marshall Fundamental Middle School, St. Petersburg, Florida, Chair Mollie Blackburn, Ohio State University, Columbus Katrina Gonzales, Eldorado Middle School, Texas

### 2011-2012

Michael J. Vokoun, Independent Day School, Tampa, Florida, Chair Jan Graham, William J. Montford III Middle School, Tallahassee, Florida Marcelle Haddix, Syracuse University, New York

### 2010-2011

Ruth McKoy Lowery, University of Florida, Gainesville, Chair Shawn Bird, Spring Forest Middle School, Houston, Texas Jennifer Joy Campbell, Suwannee Middle School, Live Oak, Florida

### 2009-2010

Samuel A. Reed III, Beeber Middle School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Chair Elizabeth Netzband, Waterville Central Schools, New York Emily Todd, Norman Public Schools, Oklahoma

#### 2008-2009

Cathleen Foster Greenwood, Rippowam Cisqua School, Bedford, New York, Chair Chris Crowe, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah Susan Houser, Pinellas County Schools, St. Petersburg, Florida

### 2007-2008

Lori Atkins Goodson, Wamego Middle School, Wamego, Kansas, Chair Joan Jennings, Spring Branch School District, Houston, Texas Ruth McKoy Lowery, University of Florida, Gainesville

### 2006-2007

Sheila Newell, Jane Long Middle School, Houston, Texas, Chair Linda Schink, Windsor Middle School, Imperial, Missouri Judy Wallis, Spring Branch School District, Houston, Texas

#### 2005-2006

Heidi Huckabee, Mesa Middle School, Roswell, New Mexico, Chair Mark A. Lewis, Bogle Junior High School, Chandler, Arizona Karen D. Sails, Indianapolis Public Schools, Indiana

# 2004-2005

Akiko Morimoto, Washington Middle School, Vista, California, Chair Nancy Patterson, Grand Valley State University, Grand Rapids, Michigan Pamela Perkins, Jackson Middle School, Houston, Texas 2003-2004 Susan G. Yates, Bumpus Middle School, Hanover, Alabama, Chair Deborah E. Barriere, Fort Bent Independent School District, Texas Kim Ford, Cypress Middle School, Memphis, Tennessee

### 2002-2003

Kelly Quintero, Huntington Union Free School District, New York, NY, Chair Jim Johnston, Tolland Middle School, Tolland, CT Connie S. Zitlow, Ohio Wesleyan University, Delaware, OH

### 2001-2002

Maureen Barbieri, New York University, School of Education, New York, NY, Chair Karen Smith, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ Lois T. Stover, St. Mary's College of Maryland, St Mary's City, MD

# 2000-2001 (appointed)

Elizabeth (Betty) Close, University at Albany, CELA, NY, Chair Gwendolyn Henry, Frederick Douglass Academy, Detroit, MI Bill Mollineaux, Central CT State University, New Britain, CT Lilyanne (Lanny) van Allen, University of Texas, Austin