Elections - National Council of Teachers of English

Election Process


The Executive Board is responsible for making all on-going operational decisions for WLU and consists of Board Members and Officers who are elected each year.



Candidates successful in their bid for the presidency of WLU begin by serving a one-year term as President-Elect, then proceeding to President for a two-year term, and ending with the one-year term of Past President. This organizational formula allows for a gradual shift into the leadership position and ensures that a certain level of expertise is always available at the senior level.

President Responsibilities & Activities


Executive Board Members

All other Executive Board members serve 3-year terms with two Executive Board members being elected each year. The Executive Board members are elected by mail or electronic ballot, but in order to respect the international nature of WLU, no more than five Executive Board members are from the same country whenever possible. The Executive Board members shall attend meetings of both the Executive Board and the Delegates Assembly as voting members. The immediate Past President shall serve as a nonvoting advisor to the Executive Board.

Board Member Responsibilities & Activities


Nomination Process

To nominate a candidate or if you are interested in being a candidate, complete the
Nomination Form and return to the WLU Nominating Committee by:

  • MAIL: WLU Nominating Committee, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096
  • FAX: (217) 328-0977

Deadline: January 15, 2017

2017 Election Candidates


Board Members: (two to be elected)

Kelly Allen
University of Arizona, Tucson

Mary Fahrenbruck
New Mexico State University, Las Cruces

Yueh-Nu Hung
National Taichung University of Education, Taiwan

Ted Kesler
Queens College, CUNY, White Plains, NY

Michele Myers
University of South Carolina, Columbia

Penny Silvers
Dominican University, River Forest, IL

Yang Wang
University of South Carolina, Columbia

Candidate Biographical Information

Votes must be cast by June 15, 2017