NCTE 2020 Awards Event - National Council of Teachers of English

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
8:00 p.m. ET

The 2020 NCTE Awards celebrate the profession’s best and brightest to honor their commitment and dedication to advancing literacy, the field of education, and the organization. Congratulations to this year’s outstanding group of talented recipients! We hope you will set aside this time to honor your colleagues, hear their stories, and be inspired. Everyone is invited, so please feel free to share this invitation with others.

The event was chaired by NCTE President Alfredo Celedón Luján.


2020 Honorees


NCTE Advancement of People of Color Leadership Award: Tonya B. Perry





Alan C. Purves Award: Latrise P. Johnson and Hannah Sullivan





NCTE David H. Russell Award for Distinguished Research in the Teaching of English: Whiteness, Pedagogy, and Youth in America: Critical Whiteness Studies in the Classroom by Samuel Jaye Tanner (2018, Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group)




NCTE Distinguished Service Award: Linda Christensen





Early Career Educators of Color Leadership Awards:

2019–2020 Cohort: Brianna Burnette, Quanisha Charles, Alesha Gayle, Daniel Christian Hoilett, Reuben Howard, Erika Johnson 


Because of the pandemic, the 2020-2021 cohort met virtually. Watch for an image soon!

2020–2021 Cohort: Khadeidra (Khay) Billingsley, Sapna Chemplavil, Valente’ Gibson, Deion Jamison, Reanae McNeal, Alejandra Reynoso



NCTE George Orwell Award: April Baker-Bell







NCTE James R. Squire Award: Linda Flower




NCTE LGBTQ+ Advocacy & Leadership Award: Roxanne Henkin






NCTE Leadership Award for People with Disabilities: Lisa Harmon-Martinez




NCTE Media Literacy Award: Julie Griggs from Bentonville High School, Arkansas, and Heather Hooks from Bentonville West High School, Centerton, Arkansas




NCTE National Intellectual Freedom Award: Nic Stone; Honorable Mention, Todd Schlechte




NCTE Promising Researcher Award: Ryan Schey, PhD