Nell Ann Pickett Service Award - NCTE

Nell Ann Pickett Service Award Winners

2022 Tiffany Rousculp, Salt Lake Community College, Utah

Tiffany Rousculp started her education at Mesa Community College before eventually graduating with a Master’s degree from USC in 1993.  She was hired by Salt Lake Community College that same year where she founded the SLCC Community Writing Center in 2001. Her book, Rhetoric of Respect, explored the rhetorical ecologies of the center. She then founded the SLCC Writing Across the College program in 2014 which she currently directs.

The 2022 Nell Ann Pickett Service Award selection committee shared this:

Tiffany Rousculp is an exemplary two-year college teacher and scholar, but what the selection committee especially appreciated about Tiffany’s nomination materials is the reach and impact of her programmatic work at SLCC. The committee is impressed with the innovative and transformational work behind SLCC’s WAC and writing center programs and recognize the vision, leadership, labor, and advocacy required to build and sustain such programs. SLCC’s Community Writing Center is a model for how college writing programs can serve and empower their communities through writing. Additionally, Tiffany’s efforts, which are nationally recognized, have elevated the two-year college voice in disciplinary conversations around writing programs. Tiffany’s work is an excellent example of TYCA teacher-scholar-activism.

2021 Jeffrey T. Andelora, Mesa Community College, AZ

The TYCA Nell Ann Pickett Service Award is given to “an outstanding teacher whose vision and voice have had a major impact on two-year college professionalism and whose teaching exemplifies such outstanding personal qualities as creativity, sensitivity, and leadership.” Jeff embodies all of these qualities, and his impact on the organization is unparalleled. The committee particularly recognizes the long historic arc of Jeff’s commitment to and work for the organization. Jeff’s scholarly work, particularly his landmark history of TYCA published in TETYC, gave two-year college English teachers a sense of identity, a sense of who we are as a profession, and, later, as “teacher-scholar-activists.” Moreover, while serving as TYCA Chair, Jeff’s efforts to initiate the TYCA National Conference further developed the organization’s identity while also providing a means to move TYCA toward greater independence and future financial sustainability.

  Holly Hassel, North Dakota State University, Fargo
2017-19 No Award Given
2016 Carolyn Calhoon-Dillahunt, Yakima Valley Community College, Washington
2015 Leslie J. Roberts, Oakland Community College, Orchard Ridge Campus, Farmington Hills, MI
2014 Peter D. Adams, Community College of Baltimore County, MD
2013 Marilyn Valentino, Lorain County Community College, Elyria, OH
2012 Jeff Sommers, West Chester Community College, PA
2011 Patrick Sullivan, Manchester Community College, Connecticut
2010 Mike Matthews, Tarrant County College/NW Campus, Ft. Worth, Texas
2009 Sharon Mitchler, Centralia College, Washington
2008 Judith “Jay” Wootten, Kent State University, Salem Campus, Salem, Ohio
2007 Jody Millward, Santa Barbara City College, California
2006 Howard Tinberg, Bristol Community College, Fall River, Massachusetts
2005 Georgia Newman, Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville
2004 John Lovas, De Anza College, Cupertino, California
2003 Frank Madden, SUNY Westchester Community College, Valhalla, New York
2002 Ben Wiley, St. Petersburg College, Florida
2001 Lois Powers, Fullerton College, California
2000 Mark Reynolds, Jefferson Davis Community College, Brewton, Alabama
1999 Katherine Staples, Austin Community College, Texas
1998 Charles Annal, New Hampshire Technical Institute
1997 Paul Bodmer, Bismarck State College, North Dakota
1996 Elisabeth McPherson, Ridgefield, Washington
1995 Lynn Quitman Troyka, Queensboro CC, City University of New York
1994 Audrey Roth, Miami Dade Community College, Florida
1993 Nell Ann Pickett, Hinds Community College, Raymond, Mississippi