Elections - National Council of Teachers of English

2022 Election Results


Congratulations to the winners of the 2022 elections.


Vice President, Tonya B. Perry

Tonya B. Perry, NCTE Vice President

“I look forward to serving my NCTE family as one of its leaders and being an advocate for our community. I am honored to be selected as the Vice President and seek collaboration and dialogue to move us forward. We are stronger together, more so than any one person could be alone. Our collective voices make a difference, an impact.” Read more

Tonya B. Perry is a tireless advocate for students and educators who are often denied a voice. She works with and for educators, students, and communities to develop programs and initiatives that uplift historically marginalized peoples. In addition, she has advocated for others on numerous committees, including the NCTE Executive Committee, as a NCTE Research Foundation Trustee, NCTE Inclusivity Task Force, NCTEAR chairperson, and NCTE Editorial Board. She currently is the director for NCTE’s Cultivating New Voices among Scholars of Color program and serves on the National Writing Project’s Board of Directors. Perry has also served the nation as a 2000 National Teacher of the Year finalist and a two-time National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT). She has worked as a middle school teacher, teacher educator, full professor, executive director and principal investigator for a large GEAR UP grant, director of the Red Mountain Writing Project, and both interim department chair and executive director for outreach and engagement for a School of Education. Her new co-authored book Teaching for Racial Equity; Creating Interrupters (Stenhouse), which was released in April 2022, is a collaborative work with two teacher educators, Steve Zemelman and Katy Smith, and other brilliant teacher-writers.

NCTE’s Official Announcement 


Darius B. Wimby, DeKalb County School District, Georgia
High school English teacher, DeKalb County School District, Georgia

NCTE provides a professional home for me by embracing who I am. When I entered this profession (2017), I thought I had to mimic other teachers I’ve seen in the past. I quickly realized I had to be myself. NCTE offers opportunities to embrace my identity as a Black, gay male living and teaching in Atlanta who loves pop culture and literature and to meet like-minded educators who embrace change in the classroom through the 2021 NCTE EC-EOC cohort.

NCTE Elementary Section

Steering Committee

Laura Ascenzi-Moreno
Brooklyn College, Brooklyn, NY

Joanna Wong
California State University, Monterey Bay

Nominating Committee

CHAIR: Francisco L. Torres
Kent State University, Ohio

Dorian Harrison
Ohio State University at Newark

Stella Villalba
Dublin City Schools, Ohio

NCTE Middle Sections

Steering Committee:

Alethea Maldonado
Middle school ESL teacher, Lockhart, Texas

Vanèe Smith-Matsalia
San Bernardino City Unified School District, California

Nominating Committee: 

Chair: Anna Osborn
Jefferson Middle School, Missouri

Amy Bouch
Eighth-grade English teacher, Western Pennsylvania

Sierra Gilbertson
Seventh, eighth, and twelfth-grade English teacher, Fosston, MN

Steering Committee:

Jacquay Durant
San Bernardino City Unified School District, California

Rex Ovalle
Cristo Rey Jesuit High School, Chicago, IL

Nominating Committee: 

CHAIR: Anthony Celaya
Western Washington University,

Janelle Quintans Bence
English teacher, Texas

Summer Melody Pennell
University of Vermont

Steering Committee:

Jonathan Bush
Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo

Nominating Committee: 

CHAIR: Sweta Baniya
Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA

Naitnaphit Limlamai
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Ah-Young Song
Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, NY

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz
Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, NY

Since the first year of my doctoral studies, I have presented at NCTE Annual Conventions, served on various committees, reviewed proposals for various sections, and recently participated in several NCTE Member Gatherings. NCTE has been an important intellectual and personal community for me for 15 years.

2022 NCTE Nominating Committee

Chair: Qianqian Zhang-Wu
Northeastern University, Boston, MA

Linda Christensen
Oregon Writing Project, Lewis & Clark College, Portland, OR

Tricia Ebarvia
Greene Street Friends School, PA

Paula Lamina
Arlington Community High School, VA

Carmela A. Valdez
Kindergarten dual language teacher, Austin, Texas

Executive Committee:

Keisha L. Green
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Davena Jackson,
Boston University, MA

Joanne E. Marciano
Michigan State University, East Lansing

Nominating Committee:

Elate Nominating Committee

CHAIR: Joaquin Muñoz
University of British Columbia

Wintre Foxworth Johnson
University of Virginia, Charlottesville

Hui-Ling S. Malone
Michigan State University, East Lansing

Teaira McMurtry
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Dywanna E. Smith
Claflin University, Orangeburg, South Carolina

LLA Election Results


Yang Wang
University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC

Executive Board:

Mukkaramah M. Smith
Early Childhood Educator, Columbia, South Carolina

Grace Kang
Illinois State University, Normal, IL