Edwin M. Hopkins – English Journal - National Council of Teachers of English

Award Details

Nominations are not accepted for this award.

The award recognizes outstanding English Journal articles written by someone who is not a classroom teacher.

The award is given to the author who does not qualify for the English Journal Paul and Kate Farmer Award. The award shall cover articles written in issues published between September and July of the previous volume year.

Award Criteria:
The award shall be given annually. Up to two honorable mentions may also be named. The editor of English Journal shall draw up the annual list of eligible authors and shall be the arbiter of eligibility.

Award Specifics:
The award is announced by the award committee chair and presented by the journal editor at the Secondary Section Luncheon during the NCTE Annual Convention. The winner receives a plaque and honorable mentions receive a certificate.

The English Journal Edwin M. Hopkins Award is named after the author of the lead article in the first issue of the English Journal, a former professor of rhetoric and English language at the University of Kansas, member of the first Board of Directors of NCTE, and co-author of the first NCTE constitution.

The Hopkins Award Committee determines the winner based upon articles meeting the criteria by August 15. The award committee shall consist of a chair nominated by the editor of English Journal and three to five readers nominated by the members of the Secondary Section Steering Committee. Each reader scores each article using the provided rubric.

NCTE English Journal Edwin M. Hopkins Recipients


Se hace camino al andar: Translanguaging Pedagogy for Justice” (Vol. 111 No. 5, May 2022) by Luz Yadira Herrera and Carla España

Honorable Mention:

An Archeology of Self for Our Times: Another Talk to Teachers” (Vol. 111 No. 5, May 2022) by Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz


#TeenPoetsMatter: Writing Critical Micropoems as Urban Social Critiques” (Vol. 110, No. 2, November 2020) by Jevon Delexander Hunter and Gliset Colón

Honorable Mention:

Looking Inward and Outward: Fostering Introspective Argumentation (Vol. 110, No. 4, March 2021) by Eileen Shanahan and Min-Young Kim


Explicitly Teaching Listening in the ELA Curriculum: Why & How”  (Vol. 109, No. 6, July 2020) by Katie Alford

Honorable Mention:

Analyzing Disruptive Memes in an Age of International Interference”  (Vol. 109, No. 4, March 2020) by Darren Crovitz and Clarice Moran


The Poet and Me, the Writer and You“. (Vol. 108, No. 4, March 2019) by Tom Romano


“’Loving Blackness to Death’: (Re)Imagining ELA Classrooms in a Time of Racial Chaos” (Vol. 106, No. 4, March 2017)

Lamar L. Johnson, Assistant Professor of English, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Johnnie Jackson, Assistant Professor of English, Woosong University, Daejeon, South Korea
David O. Stovall, PhD, Professor of Educational Policy Studies and African American Studies, University of Illinois at Chicago
Denise Taliaferro Baszile, Associate Dean for Student Service and Diversity, Miami University

Honorable Mention:
Native Feminisms in Motion” (Vol. 106, No. 1, September 2016) by Leilani Sabzalian, Postdoctoral Scholar of Indigenous Education, University of Oregon

Manga and the Autistic Mind” (Vol. 105, No. 1, September 2015) by Robert Rozema, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, Michigan

Honorable Mentions:

Cultivating Creativity” (Vol. 104, No. 6, July 2015) by Donna L. Miller, Aaniiih Nakoda College, Harlem, Montana

From the Scroll to the Screen: Why Letters, Then and Now, Matter” (Vol. 105, No. 4, March 2016) by Amy Maupin, Transylvania University, Lexington, Kentucky


Past Award Winners