CEL – ELQ Best Article - National Council of Teachers of English

Award Details

Nominations are not accepted for this award.

Purpose:  The CEL English Leadership Quarterly Best Article Award honors the authors of two articles written and published in English Leadership Quarterly.

Eligibility:  Book reviewers will not be eligible for consideration, but articles written for specific English Leadership Quarterly columns may be considered. Teachers currently on leave may be considered, as may former teachers presently not employed. The editor(s) of English Leadership Quarterly shall draw up the annual list of eligible authors and shall be the arbiter of eligibility.

Award Criteria:  The award shall be given once each year, covering issues published between February and October of any given school year. An honorable mention (runners-up) may be also named.

Award Specifics:  The awards are announced by the English Leadership Quarterly editor(s) at the Sunday Opening Session during the CEL Convention. The award winner receives a plaque and honorarium.

Judging:  The editorial panel may consist of a chair and three to five readers, selected by the editor(s) of the English Leadership Quarterly. The panel shall be nominated for a one-year term. Panel members will be expected to excuse themselves from the judging if an article on which they are an author is eligible for the award. If necessary, the editor(s) of the English Leadership Quarterly will name a replacement.

CEL English Leadership Quarterly Best Article Award Winners


Robert D. Ford for “Adventures in Gamification and Personalized Learning: A Case Study in Game-Based Course Design” (Vol. 43, No. 3 February 2021)

Honorable Mentions:

Christine M. Dawson and Nicole Sieben for “Writing-Rich Workshops as Pathways for Transformative Teacher Learning” (Vol. 44, No. 1 August 2021)


Michelle Fowler-Amato and Stacia L. Long for “The Road to Occupying Language in Our Classrooms: Learning from and for Our Students” (Vol. 43, No. 1 August 2020)

Honorable Mentions:

Henry “Cody” Miller, Kathleen Colantonio-Yurko, Shelby Boehm for “Confronting Concerns, Navigating Politics: Teaching Young Adult Literature in High School English Departments” (Vol. 42, No 4 April 2020)


Kristie Hofelich Ennis for “A Blended Approach to ELA Instruction” (Vol. 41, No. 4 April 2019)

Honorable Mentions:

Luis Javier Pentón Herrera, Lynn Daniel, Margaret Aker for “Developing Opportunity Youths’ Literacy, Creativity, and Critical Thinking through PBSL:  Facilitating Twenty-First-Century Learning and Mixed Realities

Henry “Cody” Miller for “Being a Radical Pragmatist: Reflections on Introducing LGBTQ YA Lit to an ELA Department


Molly Buckley-Marudas, Ph.D. for “Amplifying Voice, Facilitating Agency: Engaging Youth Participatory Action Research in an Urban Public High School ” (Vol. 41, No. 2, October 2018)


Katie Alford and Jessica Singer Early for “Take Time to Write!: A Teacher’s Story of Writing within a Community of Teacher Writers (Vol. 40, No. 2, October 2017)


Elsie Lindy Olan and Kia Jane Richmond for “Conversations, Connections, and Culturally Responsive Teaching: Young Adult Literature in the English Methods Class” (Vol. 39, No. 2, October 2016)

Honorable Mentions:

Keri Skeeters, Bridget Campbell, Andrea Dubitsky, Elizabeth Faron, Kelly Gieselmann, Deborah George, Brooke Goldschmidt, Erica Wagner for “The Top Five Reasons We Love Giving Students Choice in Reading” (Vol. 38, No. 3, February 2016)

George Iannuzzi, Jill Ewing Flynn, and Veronica Zuccarello for “Promoting Social Justice through School and Community Research” (Vol. 39, No. 1, August 2016)


Past Award Winners