David H. Russell Research Award - National Council of Teachers of English

Award Details

Nomination Deadline:  March 1

This award honors an outstanding work of scholarship or research in language, literature, rhetoric, or pedagogy and learning.

Any work or works of scholarship or research in language, literature, rhetoric, or pedagogy and learning published during the previous five-year period prior to January 1 of the year of the award. If an individual or company nominates more than three books, only the first three of its nominations to be received will be considered. Only one recipient will be selected each year.

Current NCTE Executive Committee members are not eligible for this award. Recipients of this award are not eligible to receive any other Executive Committee approved awards in the same year, nor in the following year.

Award Criteria:
Any published research (a work or works by the same author or authors) in language, literature, rhetoric, teaching procedures, or cognitive processes that may sharpen the teaching or the content of English at any instructional level. Publication must be available in English. Commercially published instructional materials are not eligible for consideration. Reports of doctoral studies, while not precluded from consideration for the Russell Award, are typically considered as part of NCTE’s separate “Promising Researcher” program.

Award Specifics:
The award recipient is announced in November each year and honored at the NCTE Annual Convention with a plaque and honorarium.

The award was established in 1963 as the Distinguished Research Award and renamed in 1966 to honor the Council’s late president David H. Russell.

Nomination letter must be sent by no later than March 1 to Sarah Miller, smiller@ncte.org. You will receive a confirmation and information for shipping/mailing the publication to the review committee.

Nominations should include:

  • A nomination letter with your name, phone, email, author, title, publisher, date of publication, and one paragraph indicating your reasons for nominating the work. Please provide this letter as a separate document (PDF, Word, etc.) and on letterhead if possible.
  • Three copies of the publication for distribution to the Selection Committee. If that is not possible, provide full bibliographic information so that the Selection Committee will not encounter any difficulty in locating the publication nominated.

NOTE: Publications sent without supporting documents will not be considered.

The Selection Committee determines the winner based upon the nominations meeting the criteria each year. The Selection Committee consists of three members, who serve three-year staggered terms. The chair of the committee shall be the member who has served longest. Each year, before the NCTE Annual Convention, the incumbent NCTE president shall appoint one member of the committee to replace the retiring member.


David H. Russell Award for Distinguished Research in the Teaching of English Recipients

2022 Detra Price-Dennis, The Ohio State University, Ohio, and Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz, Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, Advancing Racial Literacies in Teacher Education: Activism for Equity in Digital Spaces (TC Press, 2021)

2021 Cedric Burrows, Marquette University, Wisconsin, The Black Rhetorical Presence in White Culture (University of Pittsburgh Press, Fall 2020)

2020 Samuel J. Tanner, Penn State University system, Pennsylvania, Whiteness, Pedagogy and Youth in America (Routledge Taylor & Francis Group, 2018)

2019 Nicole Mirra, Rutgers Graduate School of Education, New Jersey, Educating for Empathy: Literacy Learning and Civic Engagement (Teachers College Press, 2018)

2018 Gerald Campano, University of Pennsylvania, María Paula Ghiso, Teachers College, Columbia University, Bethany J. Welch, Aquinas Center, Philadelphia, Partnering with Immigrant Communities: Action through Literacy (Teachers College Press, 2016)


Past Award Winners