Upcoming Awards

June 21 [extended]

Teacher Awards for Lifelong Readers & Maya Angelou Teacher Award for Poetry

These awards are for full-time or part-time teachers in grades K-12 in the United States who foster a passion and love of reading in students through programs and curricula that are innovative, original, and have measurable success.

June 30

Media Literacy Award

The award showcases NCTE members who have developed innovative approaches for integrating media analysis and composition into their instruction.

July 1

Announcing the New CCCC Outstanding Teaching Award

Honors the discipline’s practitioners and makes visible the best teaching practices of the field. The intent of this award is to honor teaching and CCCC members who do their primary work in the classroom every day. CCCC offers two awards each year—one for an Emergent Outstanding Teacher (first 10 years of teaching first-year writing) and a Sustained Outstanding Teacher (11 or more years of teaching first-year writing).

Donald Graves Writing Award 

[Extended]  Annually recognizes teachers in grades K-6 who, through the teaching of writing, demonstrate an understanding of student improvement in writing.

July 15

Recognizing Excellence in Art and Literary Magazines

The REALM program publicly recognizes excellent literary magazines produced by students with the support of their teachers. REALM is designed to encourage all schools to develop literary magazines that celebrate the art and craft of writing.

September 1

Doublespeak Award

The NCTE Doublespeak Award is an ironic tribute to public speakers who have perpetuated language that is grossly deceptive, evasive, euphemistic, confusing, or self-centered.

George Orwell Award

The NCTE Orwell Award recognizes writers who have made outstanding contributions to the critical analysis of public discourse.


Children’s Book Awards nominations for fiction and non-fiction selections accepted through October 15 each year.  Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction and the Orbis Pictus Award for nonfiction. Every other year, we give the Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children and nominations are always accepted. The next deadline is October 2021.

Awards List